Pigeons Playing Ping Pong has announced a new studio album, Perspective, set for a self-release on April 8th. The Baltimore-based, high-energy psychedelic funk quartet also detailed the second leg of its 2022 spring tour on Tuesday.

Perspective will arrive as PPPP’s sixth studio album, following 2020’s Presto, and highlights the changes members Greg Ormont (guitar/vocals), Jeremy Schon (guitar), Ben Carrey (bass), and Alex “Gator” Petropulos (drums) underwent during the past two years.

“When touring shut down in 2020, we gained immense perspective. The album title speaks to the perspective of the pandemic as well as our growth over the years,” Ormont explained in a press release.

“During this turbulent time, everyone in the world has been forced to look in the mirror and ask what’s truly important,” he continued. “If there’s anything we’ve all gained from this, it’s perspective, and a recurring theme from our band is to not waste time. Now more than ever, we recognize that you only get one life, so you might as well live it to the fullest and lift people up in the process.”

Related: Pigeons Playing Ping Pong Welcomes Star Kitchen’s Rob Marscher At Brooklyn Bowl Philly [Photos]

Perspective is available to pre-order now on the official Pigeons Playing Ping Pong website alongside official merchandise. The band will offer the album on a variety of digital platforms in addition to CD and vinyl.

In honor of the forthcoming release, PPPP will mount an eponymous tour throughout the early part of 2022. After a previously-announced jaunt throughout the western U.S., the band will kick off leg two at Boston, MA’s House of Blues on April 1st and 2nd. From there, Pigeons will head to New York, NY’s Terminal 5 (4/9) before moving south through Richmond, VA (4/20); Wilmington, NC (4/21); Atlanta, GA (4/22); two nights at Nashville, TN’s Brooklyn Bowl (4/23, 4/24); Charlotte, NC (4/27); Knoxville, TN (4/28); Charleston, SC (4/29); and Raleigh, NC (4/30). The Perspective Tour will culminate with the group hosting its own Domefest at Legend Valley in Thornville, OH on May 19th–21st, on top of several other festival appearances throughout the summer.

Tickets for all newly-announced tour dates will be available through the band’s website. An artist pre-sale will run from Wednesday, January 26th, at 10 a.m. through Thursday, January 27th, at 5 p.m. ET. A public on-sale will then commence on Friday, January 28th, at 10 a.m. ET. Scroll down to see a Perspective tracklist via Apple Music as well as the album artwork.

Perspective Tracklist

  1. Elephante
  2. Move Like That
  3. Lost in Line
  4. Sir Real
  5. Water
  6. Lowdown
  7. Su Casa
  8. Distant Times
  9. Paperboy
  10. Whirled
  11. Beanstalk
  12. Indiglo (ft. Zach Gill)
View Tracklist